News Flash

Danville, VA Local Government News and Announcements

Posted on: May 20, 2020

Unofficial results reported in City Council election

Vote button

City Council incumbents Larry Campbell, Sherman Saunders, Lee Vogler and Madison Whittle won re-election Tuesday, with the fifth seat going to political newcomer Barry Mayo, according to unofficial results

Saunders led the field, with an unofficial tally of 3,464 votes. He was followed by Vogler with 3,158; Campbell, 3,111; Mayo, 2,719; and Whittle, 2,569.

There were nine candidates for the five seats, with incumbent Fred Shanks garnering 2,474 votes; Sheila Baynes, 2,403; Thomas Motley, 1,344; and Gordon Lyles, 626.

For the winning candidates, their four-year term begins July 1, at which time they will join Mayor Alonzo Jones, James Buckner, Dr. Gary Miller and Adam Tomer, all of whom have two years remaining on their four-year term.

City Council is the governing body of the City of Danville. It is comprised of nine people, elected at large for four-year staggered terms. The City Council elects the mayor and vice mayor from its membership. These officials serve two-year terms.

Five candidates ran for four Danville School Board seats. Incumbent Renee Hughes led the field, with an unofficial tally of 3,553 votes. She was followed by Philip W. Campbell with 3,336 votes; Tyrell Payne, 2,562; and Charles McWilliams III, 2,326.

Tedd Goldean received 1,967 votes. Incumbents Terri Hall, Jeffrey Hubbard and Elizabeth Leggett did not seek re-election.

The School Board is a seven-member group. Members are elected to staggered terms. Hughes, Campbell, Payne and McWilliams will take their seats on July 1, joining Brandon Atkins, Crystal Cobbs and Ty’Quan Graves.

Unofficial election results....
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Danville, VA Local Government News and Announcements

Fire Department logo

Fire department hosting food drive

Posted on: April 18, 2020
Exterior photo of Municipal Building

City manager submits budget draft

Posted on: April 1, 2020